Taking a rain check (cannot move till student loan is paid)/ 24.03.11

Morning All! Just had a really interesting discussion about different cultures and the way we interact. I have just been told that the youth of today (meaning people under 25 years of age) have no sense of unity. How did this discussion start? I simply mentioned that I was planning to move out and I was immediately attacked and reminded that I still have younger siblings to look after. Any way now that I hear that rent prices are rising (and I still have my student loan to pay off), I’m taking a rain check.

Thinking about what they have said it is however very clear that the sense of community and co – existence that prevailed last century, and the centuries before, has been lost. When families had to rely on each other to get by, and it was only through close relatuons that you could find work, get married, and do everything else that is a part fo life, you would have had to personally know somebody in order to take that next step.

In this faceless society however, it is each to their own; many people look to their own needs before thinking about the impact it will have on their close family members. This is something I personally do not want to get caught up in.

Note to self: Do not only think about yourself.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment