When you don’t know what to do…Know God.

It has been the longest time!!
It’s a bit late for a New Year blog but this is when I knew it was right to start writing again.
For those of you who are regular readers – thanks for coming back! If you are new to my blog – welcome! Since December I had taken a step back to review my life: relationships, commitments, hobbies, everything in-between. Aside from December being the last month of the year and seemingly a fitting time to conduct such reviews, I actually went into this mode unconsciously following the deaths of a quite few people close to me in different ways. May they Rest In Peace.
The loss left me feeling over and underwhelmed all at the same time. There is nothing like death to put life in perspective, right. Although it had been a great year I had stepped into territories I had envisioned (well not so soon anyway!) I found that I naturally withdrew and wanted to make sense of all the conflicting emotions I had. Now writing is an outlet for me but I never write for public eyes when overwhelmed with a sense of confusion. I strongly believe in the power of words and do not think it is right to pour out our own sour drivel into others’ lives simply because we can. I want everything I put out in public to have a moral, a message to spread a little light. Let’s face it – there’s clearly enough rubbish, darkness and negativity out there.
So…how did I overcome and pass through my withdrawal – with God. I am a Christian. I am a believer in the living God – Father of Jesus – Jesus being the only Saviour of humankind. Amidst the confusion and sifting process I was going through – the Word of God (The Bible) was my filter. Although I felt alien to myself I knew it was only a season because ‘To everything there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under the sun’ – Ecclesiastes 3.1.
No doubt this season has been very uncomfortable. I have experienced doubt and sadness but even in that my heart has been filled with an inexplicable joy. I could feel that God was doing something in me that needed to be done. I prayed that God would refine me and refine my life. I asked Him to remove anything that should not have a connection with me. I prayed that God would open my spiritual eyes and help me to see the world, people, myself the way He saw things so that I could move in tune with how He wants me to move.
You see it is so easy to get caught up in our own agenda and own flurry of emotions. Even worse the way of thinking in society today says we have a right to feel anything and live as animals do – controlled by every worthless passion and emotion. However I know that God did not create us to live like that. So to stop my withdrawal turning into something more sinister I leaned on the One worth leaning on – God.
How are you starting the year?…
Welcome back Nissi!
Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When you don’t know what to do…Know God.

  1. Shelly says:

    Inspirational post! May we all lean on the Lord the way you have. Blessings!

  2. Congratulations my Dear Sister:

    I have nominated to receive the prestigious “Ambassador For Christ Blog Award. “ The Rules of Acceptance Are Simple:

    Add the AFC Award logo to your blog.

    Write a blog post on your thoughts about receiving this unique award, naming and thanking the person who nominated you and linking back to their blog.

    Pass the award on to as many or as few worthy bloggers as you like, notifying them via email of their nomination.

    For more information I have provided a link back to the Award’s Original Site: http://ambassadorforchristaward.wordpress.com/

    You are an Ambassador For Christ! Keep Looking Up!

    -Bishop

Leave a Reply

