Telling the truth and being a revolutionary.

During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act. – George Orwell.
I came across the above George Orwell quote and immediately started thinking about the way we communicate now. I used to think of writing as a very genuine and sincere means of communicating. The thought of somebody putting pen to paper and taking the time to think and write with their unique hand, was indicative to me of the value they placed on their words. With the eruption of social media, computers and everything else technological, I no longer place the same value on written words.

Let me make it clear that I absolutely love technology and am a strong advocate of e readers, twitter, facebook and everything else that has lured us. However I am increasingly concerned with the difference between online and offline personas; I do not know if what I am reading has been written genuinely. The social media frenzy has largely got people writing what they think people want to hear or tweeting what everyone else is tweeting so that they can join the “conversation” and be in the know.

I love conversation but what I do not like is deceit. I am often having to stop myself tweeting or posting on facebook just because everyone else is . To “be you” and stay true to what you believe is an increasingly difficult thing to do in our “politically correct” environment.

I want to be a revolutionary truth teller!

Nissi.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Telling the truth and being a revolutionary.

  1. Thank you for this thought provoking post. I often find myself re-posting links or tweeting them, without carefully thinking about them. I need to stop and ask myself, “is this really want to say?” Is this really my truth or somebody else’s? It is not always easy to do in a world that moves at the pace of technology. But I too want to be a “revolutionary truth teller.” So I will keep writing the truth as I see it, and be more cautious about joining the conversation simply as a means to belong.

  2. So glad you wrote another piece. Kept checking. I agree wholeheartedly. Truth is in the word so be careful what you write and where you write it.

Leave a Reply

