If you want to work on your art, work on your life. – Chekov.

I love writing and I love singing. I love going through things in life and building a bank of different experiences so that I can talk about them in my works. I love that each and every single day, all that I go through I am thinking about how I can turn that experience into a story; song, poem, short story, novel…anything. Sometimes however I get so consumed in my work I forget how to live. The works I create take on a life of their own and so consume mine that I need to remind myself to live again.

We are quickly approaching a new year and I am thinking about ways I can push and challenge myself. Ways I can step outside of my comfort zone…I’ll keep you posted.

Please do also let me know of anything you have been through or tried that has really changed or challenged you. I love hearing from you guys.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to If you want to work on your art, work on your life. – Chekov.

  1. LaMonique says:

    What has changed or challenged me, huh? That’s a blog post in and of itself, LOL! I will say that I try to think of the things I go through as research for my writing, music and art. I think our common struggles are what help us to identify with one another as people. (BTW, I commented on your last post, but it’s still awaiting moderation. I hope I didn’t offend you. Not my intention. 🙂 )

  2. zendictive says:

    to write is often expressions of an experience (~_~)

  3. Kevin Leland says:

    Almost two years ago I began a novel with my co-author, a beautiful Nigerian-British girl, named Ngozi. It bloomed into a full blown serious, albeit online relationship. Her parents discouraged us from meeting in person, or from finishing our story. She caved into their wishes, and I bailed out of the relationship because at forty-something, I’m done with being “parented.” She, at 30, was not, so her part of the project was abandoned, unfortunately, because her British accent combined to her African tone, was need to do the audio version of our story. I’ve been stalking your blog for a week or two, wondering if I may have found a perfect replacement? I mean, for the co-author, not [necessarily ;-)] the online girlfriend. -Kevin

  4. What a lovely post. I will allow it to inspire me to be more vigilantly hopeful.

    Writing is really what keeps me aloft.

    Susannah

  5. I love to sing too. I am kind of a closet singer. I sing the best when I am alone lol. weir huh?
    MyLiFeExPoSeD35

  6. Jean says:

    Perhaps something from this blog post to get one thinking differently. It’s not mine.
    http://ahungrylife.com/2011/12/15/a-whole-new-mind/

    For myself, I do draw inspiration while I’m cycling along with no real purpose except to get to a destination. Sometimes a ride is long enough, my mind wanders along. It does help to find /land on another non-writing activity that gets you in the “zone” or fully focused and sometimes that experience feeds into your creative pulse.

    Blogging has been helpful to keep my creative juices from falling off the Earth. Meanwhile my painting has sat abandoned for past few years.

  7. Great Quote Nissi! All the best in 2012. Here’s to pushing the envelope and getting beyond those boundaries. Awareness is half the battle. Cat

  8. Hope all is good for you! Just wanted to say hi. I think life is a challenge. Some take paths that like snakes n ladders, or labyrinth, can be most unusual. Like celebrities who were challenged last year (Brittney, Lindsay, Lady {Gaga}, Charlie, Gary…among many)..my crazy is based on a balance of dark dry/slap-stick/pottie humour and a realist view of the universe. Last year, bigger challenges were dealing with the darkness inside of myself, and trying to keep up financially. To get by, I restored to blogging, photography, and when all else failed, a drunken chat with God on a daily basis. (lol) Challenges come in two fashions. Internal and external. It is the hard action to face these, and see where you are and where you want to be. And I suggest to those who need inspiration to keep up on your blog, as well as other awesome ones.
    Outside of severe challenges, the main one was dealing with health issues of my parents. My mother suffered with lung problems, and it kept getting worse. Diagnosed with COPD, she (being the little 5foot hellspawn spitfire she was), suffered/survived with it for well over 10yrs. I had to move in to care for her after my father passed, (coupled with her having had a stroke and heartattack). For years, under the reversed roles (I was caregiver, she the child), I learn a lot about life, love, and the importance of the world and how I saw/acted in it. It was often like walking on a ledge, and at any moment, she could be gone.
    From external challenges, that you cannot control, we need to learn to roll with them. It is really, the internal ones, that we should be be conquering and winning.

    • Thank you for being so open and honest. Your post has really made me think. I worked in Adult Health Services for a little while and spoke to young carers. The role reversal is something I have not personally experienced but I can only imagine how it must change your perspectives in life.

      You are very right, it is the internal challenges that are gritty and need much attention.

  9. I dance. I start, stop for too long, then get back to it. For the last few months it’s been blogging. Happy New Year! Enjoying your blog.

  10. willofheart says:

    this is great post nissi, for me everyday is a challenge, facing and living it is a great experience, and writing became the window of my heart because I am able to share part of me…
    I am nominating you for Versatile Bloggers award, pls. follow this at http://willofheart.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/yay-for-the-awards/

  11. What about Flaubert’s advice? ‘Be regular and orderly in your life, so you can be violent and original in your work’?

  12. rerodan says:

    Great post……
    I’m inspired
    I’m going to conquer the world.

  13. Beautiful blog – I’m really looking forward to joining you on your journey through life, by following your blog & reading all about your experiences & thoughts 🙂 !! Love, & stay stylish,

    The Image Mistress, xoxo

  14. seanjrankine says:

    I sympathies; although I think it is better to be over creative than void of creativity!

  15. willofheart says:

    Hi I am back again nissi I am nominating you for Kreative bloggers award… pls. check at http://willofheart.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/yay-awards/… Congratulations… 🙂

Leave a Reply

