Originality is not seen in single words or even sentences.

Often times we get ourselves in such a pickle trying to be original. How many times have you gone to write or type a sentence but stopped yourself because it is ‘not original enough’. Now I am not for one second advocating a story or poem composed of worn out, tired old clichés. What I am saying is that being original is not as hard as we would like to make out. For example you and I have different life experiences, perspectives and ways of seeing. Therefore for me to write or put together a work that is different from yours, I simply have to be me. My own bias, prejudice and stereotypes will be woven into my work without me knowing because I am doing what I can do best, thinking as me.

I love that literature and the arts do not require us to be someone else in order for our works to be considered great. Instead I believe as writers and artist we should simply strive to tell our stories well. We should be aiming to get our readers and spectators to magically step inside our minds for a couple of minutes and see what we saw. It is my aim as a writer to impact my readers’ view of the world. I do not expect them to finish my story or poem and be a carbon copy of me. No. Instead I want them to be challenged to think differently, question what they thought was the norm and do what is so rarely done in this day and age; to think and feel.

That is my original.

“Originality is not seen in single words or even sentences. Originality is the sum total of a man’s thinking or his writing.” – Isaac Bashevis Singer

p.s. I am holding a ‘Write You’ webinar this Friday. Click to find more info: http://www.nissiknows.wordpress.com

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Originality is not seen in single words or even sentences.

  1. Neeks says:

    I agree, originality is more than just black and white words. It’s a combination of things. I mean, think about it ~ what can we write about that hasn’t been written about somewhere at some time? Not much of anything. But it’s never been written from our point of view, with our emotions, with our sight. Nice post, thanks 🙂

  2. I keep saying the same thing that you write beautifully. And yes, we must all state our truth because as the good book says, it will set us free.

    Always a pleasure.

    Susannah

  3. I totally agree with your post. We all have our unique ways of connecting with reality and other people. We all have our own insights, big or small, and staying true to our own vision in art and writing is essential, and this is what gives our work real value.

  4. I like the idea that we are a “sum total” – not just one incident. And yes, to impact people’s views…but not be a rubber stamp of anyone!

  5. Maggie says:

    Exactly. We shouldn’t have to strive super hard to be original, because by our nature, we are original and our words will never be replicated by anyone else.

  6. Everyone is original if they’re true to that self. Wonderful post.

  7. Miriam Sagan says:

    I really liked this. Might I reblog at Miriam’s Well (http://miriamswell.wordpress.com)–can I add a short bio and photo?
    Best way to reach me–msagan1035@aol.com

  8. roughangelo says:

    Wonderfully true! 🙂

  9. Marcie says:

    To thine self be true is the main foundation of originality. I’m glad you are sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

