Mirror Monologues…cont: Morning Dance & My Truth

The morning dance:

A long time ago I came to the realization that I could create and re – create myself each and every time I looked in the mirror.
Ponytail, middle part, afro thrown back, which one do I choose?
My world of possibilities starts the minute I look at me.
From the time I open my eyes and step out of bed, approach my mirror, unwrap my hair… I have a choice: who do I want to be today?
My mind dances out of the door watching myself as down the street I go.
Should I dress to strut like a vixen? Or creep through town with peep toes – smitten?
Take a run and conquer the world? Or flip flop in sandles and pay no attention?
I am a woman with possibilities.
That tops a bit low and I wonder where mens eyes’ll go
But with the polo neck I’ll look like a saint, I don’t want that – nah no.
With a strapless my arms are out, if it gets cold, I’ll regret that.
A shirts too regal it’ll shut them down.
Today’s a dress day I think
– Long just past the knee, waist pulled in, neck pretty.
I’m saying I am happy to be a lady and do what men can’t do.
I’m all for equality and love being a woman too.
It’s a man’s world – the dress says I don’t care,
I don’t have to dress cold and everywhere I go glare.
I am free spirited.
I am saying I have nothing to prove
I’ve reduced economics and the world to just me and you
Dress or no dress (well not like that)
I’m saying I like me and I don’t care if you’re not fine with that.
…It takes more than a second to dress you know
You’re thinking, you debate all this in the morning before you go?
Well yea – everyone thinks about the back story don’t they.
Let’s be honest, nobody just looks and sees a person.
What do you think when you look at me?

My Truth:

I can’t explain using words but I try anyway because they are the closest thing I can use to breakdown the breaks in communication we have.
There are many intonations, indentations, variations and complications in our world – I said ours – yes.
My world only exists to me and I want you to be able to see through the pearl white, jet black dimples I use to light up the streets and cast un identical shadows creating custom silhouettes that tell a story only I can read and so you see I am your translator.
You think you understand but you don’t and never will.
All you have is what I tell you and if not believed only casts huge, opaque, web like structures over humanity as you perceive and everywhere you go like a buzzing bee will appear a lie.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mirror Monologues…cont: Morning Dance & My Truth

  1. You write so beautifully and love and appreciate that you write all the time.

    Susannah

  2. zendictive says:

    hint; you need to add a link to your blog in your gravatar
    I found ya though (grin) thank you for visiting my post today (Challenges)
    I see your a witty writer, I enjoyed reading you (~_~)

    Art~

  3. willofheart says:

    you have a great way of sharing u’re wordings that inspire people….

  4. toxicity13 says:

    B-e-a-utiful… it captures the everyday decision we take for granted in a lovely way…

  5. You have such a way with words. You are truly gifted.

  6. Great writing!

    I believe we are all creators of our destiny. Earth is the planet of free will.

    I believe you are a contemplative wise soul.

    Have a fun day, re-creating yourself!

  7. love this line “…silhouettes that tell a story only I can read and so you see I am your translator.” you manage to hit just the right note with your words.

  8. Thank you for stopping by and ‘liking’ my posts – You have a truly beautiful blog here. Pass through again anytime and have a lovely week in the meantime.

  9. bluedaisy7 says:

    Wonderful blog you have. You have the writing skills I should have for how many college English credits I possess. However, writing is not my strong area…I write or shall I say spu, sp?, un-filter thoughts from my mind so I don’t become a stir crazy fool while staying home with a newborn. You definally have the writing talent. Beautiful words which paint a beautiful picture in ones mind. I look forward to reading more.

  10. copycatmom says:

    I love your writing. You really have a way with words.

Leave a Reply

