Writing and self: Will I ever completely know myself?

According to Scottish philosopher David Hume, man could only have a limited knowledge of himself. I came across this theory whilst looking over some of my old university notes and began to think about my writing. I write to get a better understanding of my thoughts, feelings and how they fit into the world I live in. Both reading and writing opens my mind to different possibilities and by looking at other people’s opinions on a subject matter, I am able to review my own thoughts. However Hume’s theory made me think a little deeper in terms of how much my writing and reading helps me to know myself. Will I ever completely have a full understanding of who I am?

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Heart and soul, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writing and self: Will I ever completely know myself?

  1. Lisa Wields Words says:

    I don’t think you can because there is no definitive self. You are always evolving and reacting to your experiences and can never really say this is me or this is what defines me.

  2. Harnew says:

    To answer your question. You will if you continue to write and read like there’s no tomorrow.

  3. zendictive says:

    I heard it this way, people are four entities, how your family and friends see you, How strangers see you, how you see yourself and what you truely are.

    Martial Arts is geared to master ones self, physically and mentally and it takes a life to achieve, so how can we master any thing if we do not first master ourselves and the truth is we will only gain a handful of knowledge about ourselves in our lifetime.

    have a quality day (~_~)

  4. willofheart says:

    there are so many circumstances that happening to us every day, and all of it affects the way we think and act, but for me the important part is u have principles to follow in life ….. with this u can never go wrong…

  5. Antigone's Clamor says:

    I see we are writing about similar topics! As humans, I think we will have limited views of everything, as much as we try to dig and reflect.

  6. FatGirlUSA says:

    You’re so correct in your assessment on the power of writing.  A few years back, I read a book called One to One: Self-Understanding Through Journal Writing by Christina Baldwin, which stated the therapeutic powers of writing.

    It’s always good to journal, thereby, taking a personal inventory of ones’ core values, beliefs, motivations and dreams.  Seeing these objectives in print allows a deeper understanding and self-awareness of our lives.  

    Bridgette

  7. ottabelle says:

    You can know yourself fully in one moment in space and time, and I think that is it. A moment like that may happen more often for one person than another. If a moment like that never happens, don’t worry about that. You can still have a pretty good idea of who you are.

    Thank you for liking my post, I think yours will be very interesting to follow. 🙂

  8. TruMtnAngel says:

    http://reallifencosmiccollisions.wordpress.com/

    I don’t know how everyone else’s mind works…but mine is actually extremely noisey & chaotic- a bit like downtown Mexico City traffic- I suppose you could consider it a bit dangerous too- lol. Writing is the vehicle which I can crawl into, downshift and take hold of the steering wheel to begin finding my way to discover unknown places, new perspectives, and hidden treasures long lost on the backstreets of my mind. Everytime I think I have visited and discovered ‘everything’, I round another curve. There is nothing quite like it.

Leave a Reply

