“poetry is the language of the imagination” – William Hazlitt

The great English critic and essayist William Hazlitt described poetry as “the language of the imagination”. For the past few days I have posted some poems from my ‘Mirror Monologues’ short poetry collection. The poems have looked at my intimate thoughts I have when I am by myself and reflecting on the person I am and want to be. Posting the poems reminded me of an assignment I had whilst studying for my BA in English Literature. Part of my Romantics module was to look at the role of imagination in poetry. The Romantics believed in communicating the raw thoughts and feelings of man to poetry; an organic poetry reflective of the actual feelings of humankind. Unlike the enlightenment period beforehand, Romanticism was more concerned with authenticity as opposed to simply writing the reasonable thoughts and what society wanted you to think and write. The Romantics did however still place a focus on poetic form and meter.

I fell in love reading the poetry of Wordsworth, Keats and Coleridge because of their beautiful associations between nature and humankind. I remember being encouraged in my own poetic pursuits and the need to express myself authentically. It was encouraging to know that greats before me also had certain preconceptions and poetic ‘to do’s’ that they had to overcome in order to write poetry they felt reflected their state of mind and heart. This post is to encourage you to push boundaries and especially write the things you are scared of. The process of writing the Mirror Monologues has been incredibly healing and woke me up to ideas I had of myself that I was unaware of.

The poet has the amazing ability to put thoughts, feelings and crazy mind ramblings into a format someone else can read, understand and empathise with. I believe all of us have the ability to write poetry because we all have imaginations. Use it!

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “poetry is the language of the imagination” – William Hazlitt

  1. willofheart says:

    this is interesting… keep on posting…

  2. Good writing and I agree.
    I learned something from my most recent writing. I included a lot of word play that won’t be understood by many. Almost as if I only had a one person target audience. I love sharing deep thoughts in my writings, but I need to remember to abide by a few rules if I want my readers to relate to my words. If my target audience is only one, I can email the poem to that one person 😀

    I really like this article. Can’t wait to read more from you

  3. A lovely site you’ve got here.

    Wanted to thank you for becoming a follower of athingirl.com.

    I really appreciate it.

    Susannah Bianchi

  4. You know what, I just wrote my first poem. I never thought I could, but after reading some of your writing I believe I could. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

