Private moment poetry: Mirror Monologues cont…

IdENTITY:
The cut of your body,
The dips in your arms,
The chisel of your face,
Your manly charm
Do not suffice as strength.
The curve of your figure,
The pull of your lips,
The shine of your eyes
Your womanly hips
Do not personify weak.
Physicality is shallow
And sex misleading,
Diluted by years of confusion and people pleasing.
We are born into a body defining a large part of our being,
Yet instead of going to the maker we idolise other
Fallen beings?
Man is unified,
Created solely to reflect God’s image
Not some being oppressed
And others oppressing
Creating a distorted, shattered image.
Your reverence of God
Your humility in Christ
Your acceptance of grace
And your spirit filled life
Epitomize strength.

Comfort Zone:

I open my mouth and only tell you half of the story,
half of the truth,
give you half of me.
Wanting to give my all, wanting to set me free –
Entrap myself in you…
I give you half of me.
Feelings of guilt when we collide
and I know it’s to do with what’s on my inside,
In my mind,
To do with how time passed me by; treated me in life…
I give you half of me.
I know I love you,
Know it’s you I want to be with,
To stop being scared of you completely knowing me –
Let my guard down and still know you love me…
I give you half of me
I can’t give you my heart – it’s too precious.
For you to know the hidden depths in me: my passions, my desires,
The things I want to someday set free.
They say eyes are the window to the soul,
Exposing the deepest thoughts of the face they behold…

I can look you in the face and lie.
Don’t believe that lie.

I can’t give you my heart.

Woman

I want my kindness to break you’re heart in pieces
And rebuild it with a layer that’s transparent;
Able to absorb love.
I want my actions to speak to your situations,
Breathing healing into the bitterness you’re entrenched in;
Touching your soul and triggering positive feelings.
Feelings so intense you allow tears to flow,
Taken aback by the fact that I truly love you,
And it’s as plain as that.
I want each word that passes my lips to plant a seed of life,
Amidst terrible situations – strife.
When you feel you can’t survive,
And your manhood’s being attacked from all sides:
Kneeling, broken, spiritually feeling like you’ve died.
I want to be the woman you come to,
Gaining strength to rise.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Private moment poetry: Mirror Monologues cont…

  1. willofheart says:

    nissi every time I am always looking forward to check what is u’re new post coz post by post becoming more interesting…. I like this so much….

  2. Doc Arnett says:

    Really like IdENTITY! Trying to create my own imperfect reflections of reverence, humility, and grace in this Spirit-filled life. God to you!

    • Thanks Doc Arnett. The poem has brought me to my senses many times when I have found myself striving for things that aren’t even important. All the best with your poems. Let me know if you want any input.

Leave a Reply

