Great idea rubbish story: what happens when your writing sucks

So you have a great story, it has been bubbling in your heart for years. You have never had the courage to put pen to paper or finger to pad but now for a variety of reasons, you know that now is the time.

John Berger said, “Never again will a story be told as if it were the only one”.

You have a great idea that will certainly add variety to the mix.

This is simply a short post to encourage all the closet writers out there who are too scared to put pen to paper, or if they already have are too scared to show it to people. The worst that can happen is that no one likes your story and you have to start again. So what!
Writing is subjective and some great works (including the great Harry Potter author J.K Rowling) have initially been rejected. Writing is all about practise and if you cling on to your one idea or work, you are shooting yourself in the foot.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Great idea rubbish story: what happens when your writing sucks

  1. dante668 says:

    The best part about a rubbish story with a great idea behind it is that with editing and revision it can become a great story.

  2. darkerdyer says:

    This is the greatest fear of beginning authors. They think a writing career is all about 1 project at a time. I’ll take breaks in the middle of my novel to write a short story if the mood strikes me. You never know what those side projects will turn into. 🙂 Well written.

  3. “Write badly every day.” I don’t know who wrote that, but they are definitely words to write by. We can always edit later. And getting a bit of something out in print – even if it totally sucks – is sometimes the only way we can get through to the good stuff. 🙂

  4. Marcie Hill says:

    The WORST thing that can happen is NEVER putting that pen to paper. Writing badly is progress.

  5. Raf Kiss says:

    Good of you to encourage people to start writing. It took me a long time, but I’m glad I did…
    I started my blog in may 2011 because my wife kept saying: “you should start a blog about all your experiences here in Brazil. Lots of people love to read that kind of adventure stories”. I personally didn’t really believe that I was the person to have a blog and write, because in school I always sucked at writing… Also, my native language is Dutch, and to reach a larger public I would have to write in English, right? Six moths and almost 50 posts later, I feel I’m getting better at writing and I’m very happy with the positive reactions I get from lots of people. The biggest surprise was that I started to get requests to do guest posts, and last week I actually made my first 15Usd for a post on a travel magazine.
    Glad you liked my last post 😉
    Cheers
    Raf

Leave a Reply

