The importance of your story: real emotional healing & getting real with yourself.

Above all the other titles and boxes people may try and put me in, the one that I uphold above them all is: storyteller. I have loved stories from before I could read and once I learned to read and write for myself, enjoyed telling stories. To read is a beautiful time to enter into the mind of another individual and for those moments you are captivated by the words, you have entered in to the mind of someone else. Similarly to write is to give another person access to your thoughts and feelings, to encourage them to see the world like you do. I enjoy telling stories because they help me to understand my world, myself and my contribution to it. You have that same opportunity. I have always believed that telling your story gives immense freedom and therefore power. To be free is in itself the most empowering state to be in. Your mind and body function better and you have the gusto to pursue things you would not ordinarily consider. So what is your story? What have you kept secret and allowed to keep you bound up in the silence of fear, guilt and self reproach?
To tell your story does not mean you have to write a book the length of ‘War and Peace’ detailing every wrong that has been committed against you. Neither does it mean that you use wrongs committed against you to humiliate and punish those who have wronged you. Instead I am talking about the quiet act of bringing pen to paper or finger to keypad and in the quietness of your home writing things that you have not been able to say. Tell the story to yourself. I have found immense relief and peace by sitting down to write out an event that may have happened. It allows me to think through the events, consider the situation from different view points and most importantly let go. It gets the unnecessary burdens out of my system. Below is a description of why I write:
Why do I write?
I write to stay sane. When I write I am in my safe place. Be it songs, poems, short stories, creative essays, writing brings me a sense of peace. It also gives me a chance to think. When I am translating my muddled thoughts into a coherent set of ideas that will make sense, I am forced to find solutions. The writing process helps me to think beyond my problems and look at how I can go about finding answers. I fall in love with myself and begin to understand that I am only human, I will make mistakes but I will fight to learn from them. Put simply I write to save myself from myself.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

