Write and tell: The importance of peer reviews.

So you have finished writing that great article, book, poem that you have been working on for months and it sits on your computer. You read it every couple of days, congratulate yourself on being such a good writer and close the document. A number of months pass in this way: opening the document, reading it, then tucking it away. The problem with this method of writing is that you are stuck rigidly in your comfort zone. You are stifling your chances of growth and not really putting yourself out there as a writer. What I found in my years of writing and preparing projects is that I often hype myself so much about the run up and all the important writing and planning I am doing. However when it comes to releasing my work and seeing if it actually accomplishes what I wanted it to for the reader, I grind to a halt.

For the next couple of weeks I am challenging myself to look beyond my own eyes and draw other people into my works. Whether I write a short poem, an article or simply jot ideas down, I am going to move beyond fear and seek to present myself in the raw unedited form. Lets face it, a work is never really truely finished so lets take advantage of the electronic age and engage with one another.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write and tell: The importance of peer reviews.

  1. M. Howalt says:

    Very good point. This is one of the reasons I am in a writing group and also that I submit some of my short fiction to webzines where editors give you feedback.
    Of course, one has to take into consideration the reader. Sometimes people are not in the target group and then their feedback may not be useful.

  2. Maggie says:

    “A work is never really truly finished” – that’s an important point. You can edit forever and ever and get nowhere, so eventually you just have to leave well enough alone.

Leave a Reply

