Author branding: Gone are the days of the closet writer.

I originally started this blog as a lifestyle blog. I uploaded poems that I had written over the years, published a few posts about the food I ate, my daily musings, cinema trips but the blog seemed too chaotic. I had no specific audience in mind and nothing was being accomplished. You see I had always know that I would blog for a purpose – to gather a readership. However talking endlessly about my life (as interesting as I thought it might be) was not enough to gather a solid following. I continued to blog and found that my passion to write started to take over. I blogged mostly about writing, the blogs I followed were writing blogs and my free time was spent reading. So you guessed it…Plantain Periodicals naturally evolved into a writing blog.

Now that I have started building my writing platform I am aware that there are other things I need to put into place. As writers we are no longer able to spend years writing and rewriting a book just to hand it over to the publishers. Indie publishing is gathering a huge storm ready to bust through the golden gates of conventional publishing leaving writers with a choice. For once writers have a real choice without the shame of choosing self publishing: to self publish or to seek a publishing house. The choice comes with responsibilities, one of which is the way an author brands themselves.

My blog forms a large part of my writer branding. It gives my readers a chance to see the way I think in its raw form; my interests, concerns and stance in regards to all reading and writing matters and engage with me on a personal level. Writing like other areas of business is changing and readers want to know the person behind the book.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be uploading pics, articles, sound bites and all sorts in a big push to see how you guys react to my different approaches. It has taken me a bit of time to think and plan through but I am now learning that writing is multidisciplinary. Simply being a good writer is not good enough anymore.

NMxx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author branding: Gone are the days of the closet writer.

  1. Maggie says:

    I’ll be looking forward to seeing your multimedia posts!

  2. Publishing has changed, I agree. Self-publishing is becoming more common, and the houses are spending less money on advertising and putting more pressure on writers to market themselves as part of the book/author package. I’m interested to see how you interpret this.

Leave a Reply

