Take a break: Knowing when to leave written works alone.

I have been doing a load of editing over the past couple of weeks and have realized that every so often we need to take breaks be it from work, play, adventure. Doing the same things for long periods of time has a negative impact on our minds and souls. The same applies for writing. I am in the process of editing an anthology of my works and because I am too involved and am almost knowing the words line for line, despite deadlines I have found that I need to give myself a break.

There are many benefits from the break including:
1. fresh perspectives gained
2. better focus working
3. inspiration has room to manifest

It is often scary to leave works because we have formed attachments and fear that should we go a couple of days without putting pen to paper or finger to key pad, the brain power fairy will abort the project by stealing our brains. This is simply just not true.
Sometimes we have to let go. Like lovers so caught up in each others affairs that other areas of life get affected, a break from your works is needed.

Try it.

NMxx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take a break: Knowing when to leave written works alone.

  1. ladyazure says:

    I definitely agree. My mother used to tell me when I was young and getting frustrated with something to ‘take a break and come back to it’. I find that advice holds true even today. Especially where writing is concerned. You can love a piece you’re working on to death, but if you find yourself having trouble with it for whatever reason, there’s no harm in leaving it be for a bit and coming back to it when you’ve had a chance to unwind and regroup, as it were. Least that’s how I’ve found works best for me.

  2. eritta says:

    Absolutely true. After I’ve written a first draft I leave it alone for at least a month before reading it through again – in all it’s cringe worthy and celebratory excitement.

  3. Maggie says:

    Right. If you keep working on it and working on it without taking a break, you might get bored of your own work or lose the passion for it. Taking breaks is essential to staying sane!

Leave a Reply

