Making you see the world the way I see it.

Listening to Beyonce’s start over and the words of the song hit a spot in me completely unexpectedly. The amazing thing about words is the way two people who have never met can go through the same thing, at different times, in different social climates and yet experience the same feelings. I always wondered why people wrote about love and why since what seems to be the beginning of time many have written about the all encompassing feeling. It has been a process of growth but I have now come to the realization that there is always more to explore. Just because somebody has said it before, it does not mean they have said it all.

For all the writers and artists reading this post, the point I am making is that it is not always necessary to find something new and irregular to write about. Sometimes it is simply having the confidence to write and know that our voice is valid. It is easy to get caught up clutching at straws and getting people to see that something odd has significance. That is fine if you really believe in what you are writing about, however if you have simply concocted depth to write something new, that is where the danger lies. It takes courage to address subjects that have already been spoken and written about. It takes an inner gathering of strength to acknowledge that your view is important and to say ‘this is the way I view the world, I would love to paint a picture for you and see if you see it too’.

NMxx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

