Does emotion cloud writing judgement?

The writing process is a great way to develop some sense of clarity, purpose and argument for a variety of reasons. Be it a business presentation, speech, or novel, writing serves the purpose of trying to communicate a key idea or point. During my BA English Literature studies I remember my lecturers making the point time and time again that writing had to go beyond simply reading well – a point had to be made. With that in mind I started writing this blog because I was thinking about if there is any time when we should not write. Is there a sate of mind you should not write in?

The poetic purists and dramatists may argue that caught in the swell of emotion is the best time to write. In that emotional moment you are seeing straight from the heart of the persona taken on and the words and flow being written down, specifically recreate the state of mind of the character. Undoubtedly this is great for developing characterization but it is also very easy to lose sight of the end goal. Depending on the moral or gestus of the scene or play, the scene will be revised and some of that emotion and authenticity may be lost. Is this a problem?

Despite emotion being an asset in the development of the more dramatic pieces, in terms of essay writing and corporate agendas emotion is largely frowned upon. The contradictory thing is, in both businesses and essays great works are supposed to evoke emotion in some sort of way. I believe that all creative writing has a duty to evoke emotions of some sort. So how do you balance the heartstring pulling and the superfluous air and deception of being totally in control of a text?

This blog post is less to provide all the answers and instead to present some of the issues I have been faced with over the past couple of days I have absconded from this blog. Do you sometimes feel slightly baffled with all the contradictions writing presents when it is supposed to be a way to help us and others see and understand ourselves simply?

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does emotion cloud writing judgement?

  1. Are you fully in control of the text? I think the expression of feeling in writing has to be authentic, or it doesn’t work for the reader. Heart string pulling for its own sake reads as trite, personal crisis as a plot device feels manufactured. In fiction, don’t we live our characters to write them? Or is the ability to write at a distance, while still invoking believable feeling, the difference between an amateur and a master in this bizarre profession? This is a good post. It’s given me a lot to think about!

  2. mengler says:

    i believe that the expression of writing can take it to a whole new level.

    interesting post,
    mengler

Leave a Reply

