Writing the dream novel!

I have just read the following post (http://maasmith7.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/giving-up-on-dreams/) by Maggie about dreaming and goal setting. Maggie contemplates the idea of giving up on dreams and questions if there is ever times when it may be more healthy to leave a certain dream alone. In terms of personal health and romantic relationships I would say there should be times when a dream ought to be left alone. The most obvious examples are the serial domestic abuser, and a dream that causes health to drastically deteriorate. However when it comes to writing ambition and that desire to get ‘that’ novel finished, I cannot imagine sacrificing that dream.

The ability to write a novel is largely based on commitment, perseverance and imagination. As long as you have an idea in your mind of where you want the story to go (I use ‘an idea’ intentionally because it does not have to be a perfected idea), and you have the perseverance to continue writing – the novel will finish. However the ongoing process of editing and having the grit to put aside ones ego and welcome criticism is necessary in order to get to the point of finished manuscript. I am sure we have all read Q&A’s from established authors or maybe even novel ‘to do lists’. There is no secret formula to writing the dream novel.

I could start listing athlete analogies or giving examples who achieved great things by going the extra mile but the bottom line is the same, it is about working efficiently and pushing through until the end.

So here I go with my creative grit.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Heart and soul, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing the dream novel!

  1. I agree – I don’t want to give up on my writing dream despite the obstacles!

  2. Great point! Hope your creative grit is doing well!

Leave a Reply

