Writing hangups: Being your own worst enemy

It has become very clear to me over the past couple of days having read a lot of other blogs about writing that many people are simply scared to write. It is easy to have the bravado and blog about writing and teach people to write, but to take the step and actually write a piece of work to put out there takes a lot of courage. Being a literature graduate I understand that we have also become obsessed with the act of analysing other people’s work and a lot of courses encourage this obsession. We study literature not to learn how to write well, but to learn how to give ‘constructive criticism’. At the time of my course I did not see anything wrong with that but now in retrospect I see it left me ill prepared to engage in the act of writing for myself.

Now I can only speak for myself as I make these statements but I did not really go to university to learn how to point out the positives and negatives and construct arguments in regards to another writers works. I started on my soft and rough path down the literature road because I knew that eventually I would want to write. I entered university with large dreams, a fast tongue and ready pen to contribute fiercely to my seminar lessons. However as time passed and I began to see that every work in the eyes of someone else was flawed, slowly the passion dwindled and I became content sitting on the sidelines. The need to write for myself slowly passed away and I got caught up being the critic.

The aim of this post is to purge myself from that state of mind. I WANT TO WRITE!

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing hangups: Being your own worst enemy

  1. Interesting that you mention studying literature and criticisim theory to learn how to write…for me the best classes for writing I took were rhetoric & composition seminar courses that taught us all to write better by deconstructing each other’s work…but that also meant having to produce something to have it deconstructed in class. Both humbling and empowering as an experience. But i learned so much more than I ever did in lit classes about writing. Especially about having to just put something out there, for better or for worse, because the worst that happens is everyone hates it and you have to start over. if you really believe in yourself as a writer–that is, if you believe you have something worth saying–then you’ll be able to do it again.

    but I think you hit the nail on the head…on some level we are afraid to write. it’s just the people who HAVE to do it anyway that can get past that. best of luck overcoming your hesitation!

  2. You want to write and I want to read it! I look forward to reading more of your engaging posts!

Leave a Reply

