Oreo ice cream, friends and memory lane


Today it was one of my good friends Birthdays so we got dressed up and went for a meal, spent forever talking and after went to an ice cream parlor to end the night on a sweet note. I haven’t seen my girl in ages and to spend that time catching up, laughing, skipping down memory lane and planning crazy future weddings that would take billions to fund, it made me feel alive again. You know, like really alive!

We talked about everything including odd relationships, stupid university fears that never came to pass, having to live on rations during university because of poor choices and started thinking about the different wacky career paths we could take if only we had that pie in the sky enthusiasm and hope. There are some things that you can only talk about with certain people, and only laugh at certain mistakes in the company of people who understand that the mistake was part of your journey, and growth process. I enjoyed eating my oreo ice cream and seeing how far I’d come and how stupid I’d been. Every so often I need that.

Methinks everyone needs an Oreo Ice cream friend… and a birthday.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oreo ice cream, friends and memory lane

  1. thatgirlwhit says:

    i very much agree. friends come and go, but only a precious few are meant for “oreo ice cream” 🙂 you know, and it’s fascinating, looking back and our lives and looking forward and seeing the changes – how things played out – and the new aspirations for the future. time flies and everything is always changing. which is beautiful and scary all at once!

Leave a Reply

