Will vs Fear: Lessons from the Green Lantern

The funniest thing in life is that if you really want to you can learn something everyday and so there is no real reason why we should ever find ourselves bored. I experienced a complete change in thought recently when I went to go and watch the Green Lantern. All my life I had the impression that comics were these lame newspaper/ magazine rejects made by those and written for those who were slightly strange. I do not know why because truth be told I have never even read one but that is what I thought.

Over the weekend however I went to go and see the Green Lantern and when I found out the movie was based on a comic, I nearly collapsed. So those things have morals?! I wont go into a complete synopsis but the one thing that resonated within after the movie was that the will power in us human beings is enough to conquer most things, create nearly anything and succeed. All the way through we watch as the monster fear tries to overcome the protective army of the world (some sort of will warriors). Will prevails. To have will and fear personified in that way gave me some food for thought.

#feelthefeardoitanyway
#courage

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will vs Fear: Lessons from the Green Lantern

  1. Cat says:

    I used to the same way about comics. Based on your post I will have to go see the Movie now. I’m sure I will revise my opinion. I love it when I can change my mind – I don’t feel so stuck. My biggest motivator when I’m afraid, is that I’m more afraid of being afraid (if that makes sense) and that’s the impetus for pushing on. Cat

Leave a Reply

