What do you do when your body won’t do what you want it to?

This morning I was in the shower and had the revelation that my body is one of the greatest tools I have. Not in a lewd or seductive way but in the way that what I teach it to do has the potential to either make or break me. Now some of may have known this for sometime and scoff at my primitive state of mind but hey it was my moment…

Anyway 14 or so hours later when the happy hormones have filtered out of my blood stream following my morning work out, and after work, and after helping out at the youth club, I am shattered. My body feels like it is going to cave in on itself and with every breath I take I feel like I am feeling every single muscle move. I am trying desperately to get into the mood of excitement I had this morning but my body simply won’t do it. I have approx 30 mins until my official bedtime and I have many things I need to do…

So do I push on and be the dictator to my muscles: mind over matter or listen to my heart and its weak beats pleading for me to get some rest??

The fact that there is this war in my body means I probably haven’t trained it so well yet… #workinprogress

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

