What is with this plastic surgery obsession?

I know I am months behind the reports of the young lady who went to the US to get her bum cheeks more plump but today I was reading a magazine and it had the story of a girl who has been having botox injections in her lips since the age of 19?! Now she is 25 but how crazy is that? I know that during my teens I was self conscious (as most teens are), and hated my body (as most teens do) but it never crossed my mind to have surgery. Honestly the way people think is so different. If I went to my parents as a teenager and told them that I wanted to go under the knife for cosmetic reasons they wouldn’t even take me seriously. If I was brave enough to then push the issue, they would flip out at me. It would not even be worth the trouble.

I understand that cosmetic surgery does help to make people feel more comfortable in their skin, and can do wonders for self esteem but really is a teenager in the right frame of mind to make that decision… Methinks No!

Post teen I grew to love my bod and I bet given a couple more years the botox addicted girl would have learned to too.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

