Going back to work – like wearing into new shoes.

Today was one of those mission impossible made possible days where I woke up feeling like I was not going to make it through the day. Having enjoyed my weekend way too much by going to Birmingham for my friends party, and a movie night the next day I felt truely worse for wear when I dragged myself out of bed at 7pm. To make matters worse, on Saturday I had woken up on the healthy lifestyle hype and went smiling to a body pump session at my gym, only to come out almost crying an hour later. The effect of the class has been felt all the way through the weekend – my muscles are tight and my body feels weighted down by weights that are attached to my rib caged and pulling my whole muscular system towards the floor. Ooooh the pain!

So anyway when I got into work this mormning it was quite an emotional moment. My mind knew what I had to be doing, but my body was ticking over and responding to my thoughts that little bit too slow. After many glasses of water, some toast and staring at the computer screen and answering calls for a couple of hours I could feel that I was back in motion again. In my mind I knew I had to snap out of it becasue there were tasks that had to be completed and just like lovely shoes I buy and my toes are all cramped up, I trod strong through my day to get to the point where I was getting through comfortably.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

