Rude wake up call!

Morning All! For those of you in a different time zone, I write this blog post from sunny, cold London at 6.13am.My eyes sprung open at 5.53am and to avoid going back to sleep quickly sat up, looked at the economist magazine beside me and thought about the articles I had read before work, then ran up stairs to get my ipod and bad boy headphones large enough to block out every sound.

Today I was determined to spend some time properly reading and meditating on the Bible. At present I am going through the book of psalms and psalm 50 vs 16 – 17 says this “But to the wicked, God says: What right have you to recite My statutes or take My covenant or pledge on your lips, seeing that you hate instruction and correction and cast My words behind you?” Now you can imagine my shock and embarrassment as I read through the verse and discovered that according to this psalm I am one of the wicked! Correction is great but the initial pinch and rude awakening never feel great.

I am always speaking words of encouragement from the Bible to myself, claiming the covenant (promises) God has made “I will be the head and not the tail, He goes before me and direct my paths, everything will work out for good etc etc… but I am equally quick to dismiss certain parts of the Bible and do things my own way. After reading this verse it is time to walk in my faith completely. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t intentionally slacked and made up my mind to be a sunday christian but as I have read more, and grown in the faith, my actions have not always mirrored that.

I don’t want God to ask me what right I have to claim Him.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Heart and soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rude wake up call!

  1. octavia says:

    ¶ Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

    9 Six days shalt thou labor, and do all thy work:

    10 but the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates:

    11 for in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

    One of the most commandments that God wrote in our inward parts…. we must obey and love God (first 4) and the last 6 are to love thy neighbour..

    This is the only commandment that God tells us to remember…. He wants us to reverance this day, He laboured for 6 days and rested on the 7TH…. We too are able to rest and abide in His rest. Lev 26: 2

Leave a Reply

