My baby and I – Thoughts of the future

I have slowly been making my way through a collection of short essays written by Alice Walker called ‘Anything we love can be saved’ and there is a section where she talks about motherhood and the effect that having a daughter has had on her as a person. The essay struck a chord with me because it made me start thinking about the kind of mother I’ll be, and the way I may change as I get older and experience more of the world. Already I notice that I am increasingly doing more and more things like my mother; silly things like over filling my bag and constantly using hot water bottles and to be honest I don’t really mind. She is one of those warm and loving women who when you slip up and make a big boo boo of life, just her presence makes you break down in tears knowing that no matter what I am loved.

In the moments my mum and I share there are times that grind my gears and others where I thank God over and over again that I came from her and continue to pray that I can only try and meet her standard of mothering. I also can’t help thinking about my children to be: will they like me? Will we get along? Will they look like myself or my husband? Will I even like being a mum? The list is endless…

For now I am happy being a child.

“There’s no -one I would rather hear from, talk with, listen to” – Alice Walker, Anything we love can be saved.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

