Then till now

I haven’t written any poetry in ages so decided to write one on my journey through life from birth till now…

I stumbled into this earth,
With the sound of drums playing rhythmically, smoothly and many voices singing in unison. The sounds were so distant, yet so loud, I felt 1 of the drums were within me.
The people were not expecting me but still rejoicing. At my arrival they rejoiced.
Out from an endless hole,
A hole that began in one place but ended in another. I didn’t know where the end was. I tumbled.
Foreign hands all over me, grasping and prodding, pulling and pushing. The story of my life.
Like a saviour the relief of her hands is what woke me and like a warrior I yelled, I yelled because of my small victory. I could breath.

Many breaths were forced from me, I couldn’t help it, I didn’t want to stop it but what if I decided I just didn’t want to go on. Rolling, then crawling, crawling then walking. I strengthened my little back bone. A bone that would be more important than all rest. Playing, falling, pushing, fighting. Pushing.
I saw your faces and saw they looked just like mine. You were small like me but in so many different colours. You weren’t so much bigger than me like all the other people in the place I had come from. There sometimes I got scared and cried out, only her arms or his could help me, no one else. Here you don’t scare me because your not bigger than me. I thought you were just like me.

A day and a night, walking and running, everything moved and changed in a sequence, with a pattern, and I drew comfort from the known. Wake, wash, school, home, sleep. Then it all changed and that didn’t matter. I was fatter, greasier, smellier and everything became red. Every part of me dripped and I didn’t know how to stop it. No matter what I did I had no control. Twisting turning jumping churning backwards downwards upside down. My word had turned inside out and every1 could see me. Too many eyes – watching. Nobody knew me.
Curled and withdrawn into a place – somewhere. I spent a lot of time alone with my mind. With music. I didn’t know me. Me?

Like a sculpture who has to work with glass and then lands his hands on clay, I became smoother, curvier, sexier and inline

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

