A plea to cyclists – please don’t just decide to cross my path without signalling, please for your sake do not!

I write this blog post trying to force laughter from a situation I find really frustrating. To all you eco – friendly obsessed people I would stop reading now because what I am about to say may cause offence. Slow, untrained cyclists on the road really grind my gears! There simply is not enough room on this tight, ram packed London roads for people to try and squeeze their 2 m/ph selves on to the road.

I was driving home from work having to stick to speed of about 15 m/ph because there was not enough room for me to squeeze past a cyclist ahead of me and he or she decided out of nowhere to cross my path and turn into a side road. No arm signal, no nothing, just a turn out of the blue!

I understand the need to reduce fuel emissions, and the impact of global warming, melting polar ice caps, we are all going to die if nothing happens etc… but if you have taken it upon yourself to be a force of change do it in ways you can do sensibly. Do not take to the roads on a bike in a bid to kill yourself should you not know the rules of the road.

You see me, I recycle everything from paper, food, clothes, shoes… my hair extensions because that is something that impacts change, and does so safely.

You happy go lucky cyclists/ crazy people take note – there are other ways to help.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

