Some of the best advicde I have read in ages

Reid Hoffman the co – founder and chairman of LinkedIn and partner at Greylock Partners wrote a blog post listing 10 great tips for entrepreneurs, (you can check out the list at: http://greylockvc.com/2011/03/22/ten-entrepreneurship-rules-for-building-massive-companies/). The list goes into things like building a great network and working with fast learners as opposed to people who are set in the ways, and even stating that such lists are guidelines and not rules of nature. I read the post and felt greatly inspired and encouraged with my own ventures. I love to write for free but the plan is to make money from it someday… and hopefully some day soon. By having useful pieces of advice from somebody who has been repeatedly successful in multi billion pound generating ventures can only help to spur me forward.

There was one thing he said that struck a chord, “Rule #6: Launch early enough that you are embarrassed by your first product release.”

I have written things and released bits and pieces into the public domain that now I look back and shudder. I had questioned my wisdom in the releases and promised myself not to put anything else into the public domain until I really felt ready. Reading Hoffman’s post made me re evaluate and in retrospect there are certain lessons I learned that I wouldn’t have had I not received the feedback from these earlier projects.

Sometimes the cringe comes before the conquest.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

