From University to work: University is nothing like the real world of business

Graduating was a great milestone in my life and brought me closer to myself. Although I have always known that I am a creative person, I had never really warmed to the thought of being a struggling creative and for that reason I knew there was certain business experience, tools and skills that I wanted to gain to give me a solid foundation. I have been working as the PA to the Director of a Property Development Company/ Estate Agency and during these past 9 months I have picked up tons of great and valuable advice. This Business space is where I will share my little gems with you.

The very first thing I learned was that University is nothing like the world of work! Nothing at all! When your tutors tell you that they are providing you with transferable skills, they are not kidding! The way you work out and negotiate how to transfer the skills can and will be a pest. So how do I deal with this? Initiative. It is so important to think through situations in 3D,( meaning beyond my own perspective) and to think ahead.

This is still a work in progress for me and am undergoing a huge mental shift. University is only the beginning – the real life learning starts after.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Business - from graduate to worker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

