The modern day evils of ridiculously high shoes and eating white carbs

Today was one of those strange weekends where I had the opportunity to shop but due to regulations I put on myself and a solemn promise I made to myself that I would not engage in any significant shopping until I dropped a dress size, I didn’t… well except for 2 new lipsticks. However as I looked through magazines and glanced into shop windows I noticed that I have a deadly love of verrry high heels. Yesterday at work I wore killer wedges and could literally feel every uneven piece of pavement and nearly kissed the curb as a result… not cool! So my question is this – is beauty really worth breaking your neck for??? My mind tells me no but the love of shoes tells me yesss…

And while we are on the subject of weird loves that might cause health risks: what is the deal with white bread, pasta and rice?! They are so tasty when I am eating them but after – oh the pain. My stomach starts talking to me and I mean this literally. A symphony of noises erupt from beneath my top (and other non lady like places) and I spend way too much time trying to figure out my indigestion.

So why do I continue to eat this poison and pressure my ankles?

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

