Lessons in hair care, carrot oil and green beans…

I have taken the bold step of faith to leave my hair free of any sorts of extension and extra bits for at least a month. This decision has come after months of neglect and just plaiting my hair at every chance I get – now I’m paying the price; hair at odd lengths greets me every morning!

Today I went top the hair shop to get some carrot oil which apparently strengthens the hair and helps it to grow… we’ll see. But the funniest thing is that I spent almost an hour wandering through the many aisles of Queens Beauty looking for some sort of miracle treatment to get my hair back on track overnight, sadly that magic serum was never found. The time I spent looking gave me some time to reflect on the way I had been ignoring my hair and the truth really hit home that every single part of me needs attention. Simply shoving weave, or plaits on my head every month will not cut it.

Hair conditioning, green beans, herbal teas here I come. Lovely long hair – see you soon!

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in womanhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

