What do you mean you don’t want to be a housewife?

I had a major catch up session with one of my old school friends today. It goes without saying that the conversation went here, there and everywhere, eventually ending up with us talking about our dream men and lives. We are both university graduates, with huge dreams and aspirations but I was flabbergasted to find out that she would hate to be a house wife one day! I don’t know how this is going to come across but I see my degree as an emergency life line, a means to an end, something to fall back on; ideally I want to be pampered by my husband for as many years of my life as possible. I would to stay at home with my kids, write at leisure and support my husband with whatever ventures he has. Do not get me wrong, whilst I remain unmarried my focus is to better myself professionally and creatively so that I have the tools to create my own successful business, but I would gladly sacrifice work if the right man came along.

It is great that women have the ability to juggle so much, but does not mean that we have to? At the moment society is suffering because the family is not providing the foundations it is supposed to. Without generalizing and coming across completely ignorant, is it fair for me to say that a correlation can be drawn between women’s work obsession, and some of the identity issues many young people face. I understand that a huge number of women have to work in order for their family to survive, but for the ones that don’t, why put your children through unnecessary neglect?

One thing I strongly believe is that life is never just about you and as a woman when I decide to marry and have kids, my priorities should change. Why does this not happen for so many people? Can you have your cake and eat it to when it comes to work and family?

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

