There isn’t always an answer to everything.

For the past couple of weeks I have been feeling a bit funny; not happy and not sad, just in limbo. It’s been a struggle for me to read my Bible and when I do, I have been zoning out, and this has troubled me. Anyway during those weeks I have been making my way through the book of Job in the Bible. It was always a book I had been avoiding because I had this preconception that it would just be about complaining and moaning by a man who could not understand why he was suffering. I was very wrong. Ok so a lot of the book has elements of complaining but I have come towards the end of the book with such a clearer understanding of life that I actually want to go back and read the book again.

So what is great about it? The story of Job acknowledges that there is not always an answer for everything and life is not always logical. As humans we have developed a very dangerous way of thinking that everything must make sense – this is not the case. I am sure you will agree that life often gets crazy and we find ourselves doing/ thinking things that we thought we never would. We look back and wonder how we ended up where we are. Our present that was once a future we expected so much of falls depressingly short of what we expected, and we question.

I don’t have an answer for you, but surely the maker of the Universe would have.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Heart and soul, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

