It’s Friday, but Sunday is coming… 22/04/11

So today is Easter Friday – the day Christians remember Jesus’ painful death on the cross. This day is so amazing because it marks a moment in history when a man would change the world. Whether you believe in Jesus as a Messiah or not, you cannot dispute his existence. You will also find it hard to argue the point that His life did not change the lives of billions upon billions people’s lives. I am one of them.

During my Good Friday service, we watched a scene from the Passion of Christ, and even though it was filmed for dramatic effect, no matter how you display it the crucifixion was a terrible death. I personally believe that Jesus went through that pain so that I would have the chance to pray and communicate with God, and go to heaven. Watching those scenes just struck a chord with me and I felt appalled with myself for complaining when I felt life was unfair, when people misunderstood me and formed judgments, and when I have been humiliated. Seeing the way he was beaten, tormented and mocked gave my life a whole new perspective. I sat in church and thought to myself: I claim to have a relationship with a living God who died and rose again for me, yet I have so much fear and pain that I refuse to let go of – why am I making a mockery of His sacrifice?

So today I am opening up my heart to all of you and affirming just like I did on the day I was baptized that I want to be an ambassador for Christ; being anything other than that would be living in vain. Jesus died on Good Friday and evil in the world was rejoicing…but Sunday was coming.

Sunday is coming.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Heart and soul, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

