Sad truth – all clothes are not for everyone.

So I have just come back from a quick trip to town and walking around the market I saw a variety of people. They were many different shapes and sizes, squeezing themselves into rather interesting summer outfits, and because I was being so critical of them I began to wonder what people might have thought about the way I was dressed. Today I actually looked pretty random in blue skinnies, a green tee, and grey blazer, with brown pumps, but what really stuck out as I looked in my reflection was how unflattering the skinnies were on me. I don’t know if it was just today, or that is the way I look everyday but my hips and thighs just looked too wide, my knees were too bendy, and my ankles too thin. Do you ever get those days when you just feel you look very strange?

Today was one of those days. One thing that has stuck with me even when I got home and took off the jeans is that skinnies are not for everyone! I think I am going to start thinking a lot harder about what I buy from now on. It may sound shallow but dressing in things that do not compliment your figure creates all the wrong impressions.

Food for thought.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, womanhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

