Why re – live yesterday? 14/04/11

So today was one of those strange days, it was the first time in my whole entire life that I was working on my birthday. My office did a little surprise and I enjoyed the work day but because it went against the routine of my life to even be in the office on 14/04 I couldn’t shake off this feeling of being neither here nor there. Limbo.

Anyway it is amazing what a drive home at 50 mph, in the dark, listening to your favourite tunes can do – I started thinking. I started digging beneath the surface and tried to unpick this strange feeling that had stolen the joy of my birthday, the day of my birth. I came to the conclusion that I am a hugely sentimental person and when I have done things a certain way for my whole life, I find it hard to leave that pattern behind. So be it an occasion that I always celebrate in a certain way, or a person whom I have known since the day of my birth, or even a pen I used to write in a certain exam, I want to hold on to it. At a glance there is no problem with that, but when a closer look is taken and we consider the effect of what happens when that routine is broken, the truth is far more sinister.

Take today for example: I have every reason to be happy – I am young, beautiful, healthy, work with great people, have people in my life who I love and who love me but just because I was working on my birthday, I thought it gave me the license to be a misery guts?!

Wake up call!

Sentiment is great, and tradition is even better, but the greatest thing ever is enjoying life and taking it for what it is one day at a time. Who wants to re – live yesterdays anyway?

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

