Out come the butterflies: season change/ 10.04.11

Now that the sun is out after such a long period of bitterly cold weather, it kind of feels surreal doesn’t it? I put on a pair of sandals and let my toes bask in the warmth, let me hair blow in the warm wind, and feel the sensation of heat on my face and it is amazing! There is something about the summer that makes me feel like I can do anything. It is like a switch turns on in my head and I’m unstoppable. I wake up smiling, I go through the day smiling, I sleep smiling. No matter what happens I see the sun and it all becomes ok.

Somehow when it is cold and dreary I become a woman of many excuses… Too cold to do this, to dark to do that.. and I find myself achieving less than I should. Do you get like that?

Anyway now that the sun is out, it is time to forget about the cold months, and that hibernation period. We have been the ugly caterpillar, in our cocoons, thinking about projects, planning different methods, dreaming about what we can accomplish. The sun is out now – and so are the butterflies. Hibernation is over – what are you going to turn into this summer?

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out come the butterflies: season change/ 10.04.11

  1. I’ve really noticed how much of my life is dominated by the weather. It’s so much harder when the weather is cold or dark to do all the extra things that rejuvenate us like exercise, hobbies, eating well, etc.

  2. I know its really strange how external factors have such an influence on the way we live our lives.

Leave a Reply

