The sun is out – be careful you don’t turn too black!

Yep quite a controversial heading there, and some of you will be shocked to see it but as a young black woman, this a phrase I will hear a lot this summer. Be it in jest, or someone honestly feeling they are doing me a favour by giving me this piece of ‘advice’ – I will hear it. So because the sun was out today, and I am praying it will stay out I wanted to explore the issue of being ‘dark skinned’ black.

So let’s start from the beginning. Historically being darker/ tanned has been associated with many things and all of them not great: poverty, uncontrollable sexuality, smaller brains, animal – like behavior and other things. Fast forward a century or two and now being white and tanned is sexy, and being black and darker makes a statement. The point I am trying to make here is that talking about being afraid of the sun because you are black is so outdated! We should have developed enough to see past colour.

Let’s choose what we laugh about, and think about what we say.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The sun is out – be careful you don’t turn too black!

  1. amber nduka says:

    love it!

Leave a Reply

