Student loa(d)n: fun then…not so much fun now.

So I got my letter in the post threatening me to update the student loans company on my job and financial situation now. The letter has made it really hit home that the money I was spending at uni, and funded my uni education wasn’t free. Oh the pain! I bet you I wouldn’t have complained so much about my 9 o’clock lectures and handing in the assignments had I placed more value on the money being spent on the education I was receiving. Sad for me. Things are so much clearer in retrospect.

Any way what’s been done has been done and I now owe thousands and am more keen than ever to ensure that I have not wasted 3 years of my life, and more money than I have ever had in my bank account at any one time – probably in my life actually. So as I draw up my plans for my pay cheques in order to clear this debt as quickly as possible, I am happy that I didn’t max out credit cards and indulge in too many ridiculous purchases. At the moment I am in manageable debt but it is also clear to me that I need to watch every penny I spend and make it count. Every pound I spend is a seed and I am carefully watching where I am planting.

Are you??

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Student loa(d)n: fun then…not so much fun now.

  1. Leila El-Ayadi says:

    Well,…I too have a huge student loan, however I spent it (not on books) but on 3 trips to Uganda which changed my life, I went to france and portugal and morocco a few times etc.

    My degree (I passed, got a 2:1) is pretty much worthless. I wish I hadn’t gone (minus the travelling) wasting 3 years of my life on a bureaucratic piece of paper was a silly thing to do.

    However spending my money on Uganda was the best thing I ever did, I worked in a hospital, at an orphange, and best of all thats what led me to start my business.

    You seem very organised and sensible. I on the other hand am quite reckless and impulsive. Hopefully we will both be a big success in what we do, things work for people in different ways.

    Hopefully I can move to Africa and dodge my repayments LOL.

    I have no plans in paying as much off as I can now 😛

    • looooool Leile you really do make me life – dodge payment u know! ha ha let me know how that goes i might follow u to africa!

      But yea diff things suit diff ppl, uni really isnt 4 every1.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

