My lipgloss & lipstick obsession/ 29.03.11

Today I was watching Eastenders and there was a scene where Kat was putting on lipgloss in the mirror whilst talking to Alfie and in that moment my allegiance to the kingdom of womanhood was reaffirmed. It sounds so silly but the joy that filled my heart as I thought of my own lipgloss and mirror moments was indescribeable, don’t worry this is not a male bashing blog – in fact its far from it. One of the things I love about being a woman is my attraction to the opposite sex! Anyway aside from that, to some of you this may seem so shallow but i’m ready to take that risk. Watching Kat as she put on her lipgloss made me think of my own lipgloss/ lipstick collection and other make up bits and bobs. In fact there are many things I can leave my house without, but if I step out only to discover that I have left my lipgloss behind, then I will turn around and go straight back home.

But it goes beyond simply loving lipgloss, there is actually an added depth. Depending on the colour, texture and layering of my lipgloss I create different looks. I adore the fact that no matter how bad my hair may look, or how funky my outfit is, putting on the right lipgloss or lipstick on my lips simply works a miracle. Lipgloss goes beyond superficial adornment, it helps reinforce an attitude, create different impressions, and attracts different types of attention. I love it! Use with care!!

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in womanhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My lipgloss & lipstick obsession/ 29.03.11

  1. Leila El-Ayadi says:

    hehe , thats how i feel about eyeliner

Leave a Reply

