It’s the small things that matter…27.03.11

Do you ever find yourself going through life so fast: rushing from place to place, struggling to fit all your activities into one day, waking up from sleep as exhausted as you went to bed because you only manged to squeeze in three hours of sleep anyway. If you are anything like me then the answer to this is yes. You have probably already started justifying your actions mentally, getting ready to shrug off any advice I give against your hussle and bustle life because: “I don’t know how much you have to do”, right? Wrong! Regardless of where we are in life, if we are too busy to pay attention to detail and appreciate the small but significant moments, something is definitely out of line.

What gives me the justification to say this? I have spent some of my life being so busy that I was too knackered to spend time with my family and listen to what they have to say. My little sister is literally like my other half, yet when I came home she would start talking to me and 5 minutes into the sentence I would fall asleep.

You see during this time in my life I was a student travelling from Barking to Hertfordshire 3 times a week. My lectures were spread throughout the day from 9 – 5, so I would leave my house at 7 am, and be back home by 9. As soon as I got home I had to start reading the texts for my next lecture, and preparing and typing notes for my next essay. On the days when I wasn’t at university, I crammed all the hours I could into finishing my assignments, writing music, performing, and preparing for the youth lessons I took on Fridays. I was literally racing through life.

It began to take its toll on me and I suffered from palpitations, and even worse my relationship with my family began to deteriorate. My little sister and brother slowly began to distance themselves form me, and when I asked them how things were they would give one word answers.

Success is great but its not worth it if you have no – one to share it with. Imagine all your wildest dreams coming true but having no – one around.

Just a thought.

NMx

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

