Lessons I live by: Moving from 21 to 22/ 27.03.11

So in just under three weeks I turn 22 am faced with the fact that I am not as young as I once was. Not that I am getting old… but I now have to think about repaying my student loan, saving for a house, and preparing myself to be a good wife. These are way different to the priorities I had when I was 21 of finishing university with good grades, and having enough petrol to take me to uni and back. So now as an ode to my 21 years I have decided to look back on the most important lessons I have learned in my years of extreme freedom:

1. Everything has a season: This lessons has kept me going when I felt I couldn’t take it anymore. From bad relationship breakups, to hair that just would not do what I wanted it to, to coursework I hated doing but had to do in order to pass the year, knowing that my current unfavorable situation is only temporary has been a blessing. Each time I come through the bad patch I always have a smile, a lesson in life and gained wisdom.

2. Love yourself: Through the turmoil of the terrible teens when my teeth were just too bent, I was just too fat, and my skin had too many stretch marks learning to love myself as is and it has given me a confidence that has far outweighed my body hang ups. Through experience I now know that the most attractive thing to the opposite sex, future employers, and even good friends is confidence. When you are able to genuinely love yourself, you lose the need to be spiteful and justify yourself to others; your love is wholesome and people love being around you. Trust me – it is good when people love being around you, life become a whole lot easier.

3. Love God: At times I have found it hard to see my current predicament as a season and it consumes my whole world. At times it is also hard for me to love myself, I wake up feeling horrid and there is nothing anyone can do to stop me feeling that way. My love for God however has helped me to put things into perspective. I might not always understand life but knowing that God is in control and regardless of anything I do I can come and ask for forgiveness and move on has been my anchor. When you fully grasp the fact that God is in control no matter what life throws at you, you can keep your head above water and maintain your sanity. You and I both know that sanity is not that easy to keep.

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons I live by: Moving from 21 to 22/ 27.03.11

  1. Lily says:

    Really lovely post Nissi =) Really enjoying reading your thoughts xx

Leave a Reply

