grocery shopping, cooking and eating!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks to the fab weight watchers website I have been able to try out new ways of cooking chicken and veg. For the first time today I actually used cumin seeds, and for the first time I added courgettes to my stir fry!!

Anyway the food in the slide show is really easy to prepare, and completely guilt free. Only 15 mins prep time and 45 mins cooking time

For the chicken: simply mix together your favorite seasoning with onion and garlic. I used paprika, maggie cube, cumin seed, and chillies. Wash your chicken thoroughly with water and lemon, then add approx. 5 table spoons of water to your seasoning and rub into the chicken completely covering the whole surface inside and out with the mix. Wrap in foil, place on a baking tray and cook for 45 mins at 170 oC.

For the stir fry: slice a whole large onion into many, thin half moons, cut your veg into whatever shapes tickle your fancy. I used courgettes cut into small oblongs, carrots thinly diced, green beans cut into quarters.

Place 2 table spoons of oil into a pan and fry the onions until soft, only when the onions are soft should you add the rest of the veg or else you will end up over cooking them and they’ll be mushy 😦

Add soy sauce to the mixture and grubs up! All done!

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to grocery shopping, cooking and eating!

  1. Naomi says:

    hehe…I saved this and added it 2 my recipe book…..looks both nutritious and delicious 🙂
    can’t wait to try cooking it for myself xx

Leave a Reply

