Twitter is not reality honey/ 25.03.11

Wow life and time travel so fast so seamlessly these days. You can bbm somebody on the other side of the world at virtually no cost, and they will respond to your message in seconds; through twitter you can interact with those in the higher echelons of society without the gates and inaccessibility you would have to climb should you want to set up a face to face meeting; and via facebook stay connected with nearly everyone that you have met in your whole entire life. WOW!

And yet… still… we have managed to stunt the growth of effective communication. What do I mean? Well you know how you can talk to someone on facebook and the conversation is great and then you meet face to face and it is by far the most awkward situation you have encountered in your life… yeah you know that one… well that’s what I mean! Problem is we are so used to talking over our phones or computers that we are beginning to forget the value of physical face to face communication.

Call me a hopeless romantic but I want to live in the days when writing a letter was only a way of fanning the flame in the fire of a passionate relationship, a way to quench the thirst of not being able to see somebody. That’s just me.

Whether you agree or disagree one fact is that twitter is not reality – people can be whoever they want to be in cyberworld so take a step back every once in a while to really evaluate the types of relationships being formed. Do not ever become flippant in judging who your friends are.

Twitter is not reality honey.

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

