I say no to (too much) SLEEP

Other than Shakespeare’s more than eloquent description of death, I today had my own revelation as to why sleep and death have been likened to each other.

Just vibe with me on this one, you’ll get the message once you reach the end of the story.

I have recently had 2 change my routine in order to put first things first. We all know that life is very much a balancing act. So much to do so little time an all that…wrong! God has given us enough time to achieve what we need to, but we often times have a misguided idea/ or no real idea about what we need to accomplish.

Having made this realisation I have had 2 completely turn my life upside down, to get it the right way round. Are you still with me?

So anyway to put this into perspective I had the set routine of: wake up, read my bible and pray, breakfast, go to work, dinner, gym, shower, watch tv, sleep. Sounds great doesn’t it, I’m getting in all the vitals. I spent a bit of time with my family win the evenings watching tv, squeezed time in for my friends and partner when I was too tired to gym, and spent saturday and sunday mostly travelling to and from studio to record, with a couple of hours on sunday morning, or evening (never both) at church.

My life was completely dedicated to work and music which is great for me but I started to sense that I was alienating those I love. I simply had not made any real time to focus my efforts on them.

So I decided that the only way to solve the problem was to concentrate my personal activity to the mornings by waking up earlier – 6am instead of 7 to gym and read my bible, blog. That way when I finished work in the evenings I had more than enough time to attend to the needs of my loved ones.

Great in theory but you know the one thing that is stopping me: sleep. I am forever waking up too late to accomplish my morning activities, and its not because I haven’t had enough sleep – its sheer laziness, lack of will.

I refuse to let the death – like quality of sleep keep me bound in a state of non progress. I am not going to let a love of sleep kill my ability day by day to move closer to my dreams.

From today the 6 o’clock club starts… Wait for my next blog to find out what that is!

NM x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

