Black History

An outline of the thoughts I have regarding black history month:

 

Look at my brown skin, don’t you love the way it glows?

Many stars across the Nubian sky, watch as I part my lips and smile.

You must love my wide hips oozing sensuality as I glide by:

Round bum, thick thighs, a sure feast for human eyes.

More than just an ornament once thought of as tacky, now antique.

Reaching deeper than Black  Beauty, Africa’s exotic or Black History.

Take time to actually read me: take in my actions, my expressions, my story.

I am not the Black History.

 

Look my tightly curled hair, don’t you love the way it steadily sits on my head – crown of beauty.

You must love my mountainous breast and shapely full lips;

Kissing the air and calling men without speaking.

I speak from my soul and not my body,

Open your heart, close your eyes, feel as I tell you about my life.

There were chains, there is oppression, and life is unjust,

I am not the Black History.

 

Chiselled face, broad nose, broad shoulders pressed against cloth;

Muscles creating a pattern on its surface, a pattern of masculinity, sexuality

A threat.

My other half has been accepted, part of a movement of womanhood,

Femininity coloured her suitable, yet I stand condemned – trouble.

Black listed by your humanity,

I am Black.

 

Shackled to the past, re – living it in the present.

Constantly looking back, we don’t know how to look forward.

Shouting against the stereotype we’ve personified,

Hood up, trousers down, violence an antidote for the pain inside.

I am Black.

 

A people united and falling apart,

Division, collision, confusion:

I am!

We are!

I’m not!

Who is?

Black History.

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

